top of page

A Decade of Dolly Gray Award Winners

The Dolly Gray Children’s Literature Award is a biannual award that “recognizes authors, illustrators, and publishers of high quality fictional and biographical children, intermediate, and young adult books that authentically portray individuals with developmental disabilities, such as autism spectrum disorders, intellectual disabilities, and Down syndrome.”

And since here at Think Inclusive/MCIE we love disability representation, we thought we’d share the Dolly Gray Award winners from the past decade so that you can add some inclusive reading to your bookshelf.

2022 Winners

Dancing with Daddy by Anitra Rowe Schulte (author) & Ziyue Chen (illustrator)

Planet Earth is Blue by Nicole Panteleakos

2020 Winner

Scarlet Ibis by Gill Lewis

2018 Winners

The Someday Birds by Sally J. Pla

The Girl Who Thought in Pictures: The Story of Dr.Temple Grandin by Julia Finley Mosca

2016 Winners

My Friend Suhana by Shaila Abdullah & Aanyah Abdullah

Rain Reign by Ann M. Martin

2014 Winners

Remember Dippy by Shirley Reva Vernick

Memoirs of an Imaginary Friend by Matthew Dicks

2012 Winners

Waiting for No One by Beverley Brenna

Mockingbird by Kathryn Erskine

My Brother Charlie by Holly Robinson Peete

Just Because by Rebecca Elliott


Inspired to think inclusive? Here are three ways you can help us:

  1. Follow us for more on Instagram

  2. Subscribe for updates

  3. Donate to MCIE


Kayla Kingston is the Communications Specialist for MCIE. A recent graduate of the University of Dayton, she loves reading, writing, and supporting all things inclusion.


Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page